GNAD:  Ghana National Association Of The Deaf
...
...
...
...
...
...
 
         
     
  About GNAD

Established in 1968, Ghana National Association of the Deaf (GNAD) is the umbrella organization of associations of Deaf People in the ten regions of the country. It is recognized as a voluntary Association and accredited by the Ministry of Manpower, Youth and Employment. GNAD was granted permit to operate as a non-governmental organization by the Department of Social Welfare and the Registrar of Companies, Ghana. GNAD is a member of the World Federation of the Deaf and the Ghana Federation of the Disabled.
Our Vision

To achieve an active and productive deaf community with access to education and information, and steady economic activities that can sustain and maintain quality and security of life.
Our Mission

To mobilise members, remove communication barriers, create awareness on deaf issues, and advocate for equal opportunities for the Deaf People.
Programme

A) Enhanced Social Participation
GNAD implements family welfare projects aimed at educating the Deaf on reproductive health, family planning and responsible parenthood, gender-based violence, HIV/AIDS, and other important issues. Sports development projects are also implemented in the regional and district branches of the Association to help develop and enhance the physical and social well-being of the Deaf, as well as promote their participation in sporting activities in the country and abroad.
B) Economic Empowerment
This programme aims to create source of livelihood for unemployed members of the Association by implementing income generating projects on a per regional basis. These include bead-making and batik and tie-and-dye production in the central region, soap-making in the Brong Ahafo Region, gari-processing in the Eastern Region, and farm projects in Ashanti and Volta Regions.

Achievements

GNAD has been able to mobilise around 6,000 members in the 10 regions of Ghana. As a mouthpiece of the Ghanaian Deaf Community, GNAD takes interest in the welfare of the Schools for the Deaf in Ghana.GNAD also teachs sign language to individuals and organizations to ease the communication difficulties between the Deaf Community and the hearing public.GNAD continually lobby and advocate for the rights of the Deaf in Ghana.

E-Mail list for GNAD Staff and Leaders:


Executive Board


National President: president@gnadgh.com
National Vice President: vp@gnadgh.com
National Secretary: secretary@gnadgh.com
National Vice Secretary: vicesecretary@gnadgh.com
Public Relations Office: pro@gnadgh.com
National Treasurer: treasurer@gnadgh.com


Regional Heads (Branches)


Ashanti Region: ashanti@gnadgh.com
Brong-Ahafo Region: brong-ahafo@gnadgh.com
Central Region: central@gnadgh.com
Eastern Region: eastern@gnadgh.com
Greater Accra: accra@gnadgh.com
Northern Region: north@gnadgh.com
Upper East Region: uppereast@gnadgh.com
Upper West Region: upperwest@gnadgh.com
Volta Region: volta@gnadgh.com
Western Region: western@gnadgh.com


Wings


Sports & Culture: sports@gnadgh.com
Women Wing: women@gnadgh.com
Youth Wing: youth@gnadgh.com


Staff of GNAD -Head Office

1. James M Sambian Executive Director 0200568364 jsambian@gnadgh.com
2. Robert Frimpong Manso First Sign Language Interpreters 0244867656 frimpong@gnadgh.com
3. Johnson Mahama Project Officer 0243548339 johnson@gnadgh.com
4. Julius O.K. Akuokoh Communications/Administrative Secretary 0267376620 jakuokoh@gnadgh.com
5. Robert Sampana Advocacy Officer 0243229821 sampana@gnadgh.com
6. George Pinto Second Sign Language Interpreter 0277188393 pinto@gnadgh.com
7. Alhassan Chirapanga Office Assistance 0246101128 alhassan@gnadgh.com
8. Felix Annor Transport/Logistic Officer 0243131817 annor@gnadgh.com
9. Bernice Agyei Addai (Mrs.) Accountant 0244262885 bernice@gnadgh.com


Reach us through

P .O. Box AN 7980, Accra North, Ghana,

West Africa Tel: 233 (0)302 680100

E-Mail: info@gnadgh.com or gnadeaf@yahoo.com

Site: www.gnadgh.com